Originality is Overrated

So recently a few people I’ve considered to be pretty original have revealed to me that they used to do other things than what they do now. For example, a friend of mine (Renamed for privacy reasons) Michael, has told me that he used to be a hipster until it became all mainstream, and then another friend (also renamed) Carla revealed she used to dress like a gangster but decided to be gothic for the same reasons.

So I began thinking about this, and I came up with a conclusion. That Michael and Carla, both people I once thought of as pretty unique people, are not unique at all. They’re making an active attempt to be set apart from the crowd. That’s not unique at all, it’s called peacocking, and I don’t like it. I wish people would realize the best way to be individual is to wear what you like, and want to wear, when you want to wear it. If you like  dressing up like a dinosaur, then dress like a dinosaur, it you like wearing all black, then wear all black, and if you want to listen to rap music, then listen to rap music.

Don’t let society dictate how you reinvent yourself based on how many people are doing what you do. Don’t start hating Rap just because, “It became all mainstream, they fucking sold out!” You know who really sold out? You, for turning your back on something you used to enjoy just because other people started enjoying it too.
If you started disliking something because they genuinely changed, then don’t be immature, people change, and they’re allowed to, maybe you should take a cue and change yourself for the better. At least stop ragging on whoever changed and just move on with your life.

But seriously, It’s frustrating to see how many people are trying to set themselves apart, it’s like knowing a hundred people who are attention seeking college girls or frat boys, who’re willing to put anything inside their mouth, jump on top of anything, or do anything really, just for a few minutes of pseudo fame.

What you should take away from this, is be yourself. Because yourself is the best you can be. Don’t try to be the best person that person you really like, can be, try to be the best person that you can be.
Well… This message has been brought you by a rare period of time where I could sleep, and had a dream that I was Tony Robbins. (I wrote down his/mine speech to the self conscious masses)Image

Take a note from Jane, he’s not afraid to wear his goofy hat. No matter how many times I tell him I think it’s stupid. THAT’S originality!

Leave a comment